Supervisory authorities

CNRS

Our partners

Search




Home > Teams > Optoelectronics, Heteroepitaxy and Materials (OHM)

Optoelectronics, Heteroepitaxy and Materials (OHM)

 

Team coordinator Charles CORNET

The OHM research team studies the elaboration, and the electro-optical/electronic properties of new materials, compounds and devices (mainly semiconductors) for photonics and photovoltaics. To this aim, the research team benefits from several facilities, spanning from molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) of nano- or heterostructures to clean room devices processing, and several skills by using modelling and the study of structural, optical, electrical, electro-optical or functional properties. Research activities then begin with the understanding of materials at the atomic level and ends with photonic or photovoltaic demonstrators. These activities correspond to four research axes of the FOTON institute. A brief description is given in the following:

 
Research activities


- Axis I: Devices and functionalities for optical communications
The research team works on the development of laser sources with InP-based nanostructures (quantum wells, quantum wires or quantum dots). Both edge-emitting laser devices and surface emitting lasers (VCSELs) are being studied. This is done in collaboration with SP and DOP research teams. Integration of both active and passive photonic III-V devices on silicon, via the GaP semiconductor, is also considered in order to use optical non-linearities on-chip, for optical interconnects or THz generation.

Contact : Charles CORNET
 

- Axis IIIInnovative materials for photonics
The research team studies at the earliest stages the development of new materials and nanostructures for photonics and photovoltaics. Here, structural, electronic and optical properties of various materials are explored (e.g. hybrid perovskites, liquid crystals for photonics, carbon-based nanostructures, 2D or 3D materials, with or without quantum confinement). These studies allow assessing the potential of these materials toward their use in photonic and photovoltaic devices.

Contact : Nicolas BERTRU
 

- Axis II & Axis IVTera-Hertz optics, optical sensors and coherent imaging
The OHM research team mainly develops here some vertical-emitting laser devices (being VCSELs or VECSELs) with InP-based quantum nanostructures for dual frequency lasing, frequency upscaling to the millimeter and THz domains, instrumentation or optical sensors, in collaboration with the DOP research team. Middle infrared resonant microcavities are also fabricated for gas spectroscopy. Finally, in a prospective approach, GaP for THz generation is also studied.

 

- Axis VAdvanced concepts for Photovoltaics
The team works experimentally and theoretically for the development of new photovoltaic solar cells concepts. Especially, the very promising hybrid perovskites, a material of choice for tomorrow’s solar cells, are carefully studied within the research team. But other concepts such as III-V/Si solar cells or hot carriers solar cells, are also being developed experimentally and theoretically.

Contact : Olivier DURAND
 
Skills & Equipment

Equipment and skills available in OHM research team are part of the technological platform « NanoRennes », that joins together the technological equipment and skills of Foton-OHM (INSA) and IETR-MM (UR1). NanoRennes is a regional technological platform, dedicated to characterization and micro-nanofabrication tools, that is part of the CNRS national platform network. Nanorennes offers skills, expertise and equipment for the realization of collaborative projects, service provisions with academic or industrial partners.

Skills

The OHM research team is composed of INSA-Rennes and INSA staff, of 44 contractual or permanent members, including 21 senior scientists, 12 PhD students, and 11 technicians/engineers or administrative staff. Research activities of the OHM team mainly relies on the four following skills:

- Materials/crystal growth by MBE
- Clean room processing/devices
- Study of electro/optical properties
- Atomistic simulations and device modelling

Equipment

The available equipment at OHM is listed below:

  • Epitaxial growth reactors for Si and III-V materials (2 MBE, 1 UHV-CVD</acronym)
Contact : Nicolas BERTRU
 
  • ISO 4 / ISO 5 clean room of 120 m², including:
    • UV photolithography experimental setup
    • Stylus-based profilometer for thickness measurements
    • Electron beam physical vapor deposition of metallic thin layers (Au, Ti, Pt, Ge, Pd, Ni, Al, Cr, ...)
    • Plasma-Enhanced Chemical Vapor Deposition of dielectric materials - PECVD (Si, Si3N4, SiO2 ...)
    • Chemical etching and/or plasma-assisted etching (RIE</acronym) of many different materials
    • Rapid Thermal Annealing (RTA)
    • Micro-wiring of devices (Au, Al)
 

* Experimental setups for optical studies:

    • Experimental setups for emission wavelength from 0.4 to 5µm, with or without cryogenic facilities (from 10 to 400K), photoluminescence, electroluminescence, laser characterizations, and microscopy
    • Ultra-short (130fs) laser pulses experimental setup covering the [0.4, 3]µm wavelength range
    • Quantum efficiency measurements for solar cells
Contact : Yoan LÉGER
 

FOTON-OHM team publications

FOTON-OHM team directory

Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires

Rechercher





Accueil > Équipes > Optoélectronique, Hétéroépitaxie et Matériaux (OHM)

Optoélectronique, Hétéroépitaxie et Matériaux (OHM)

 

responsable Charles CORNET

Cette équipe étudie l’élaboration, les propriétés électro-optiques et électroniques de nouveaux matériaux et composants (principalement à base de semi-conducteurs) pour la photonique et le photovoltaïque. Pour satisfaire cet objectif, elle dispose en un même lieu de moyens techniques qui vont de la croissance de (nano-)structures par épitaxie par jets moléculaires (MBE) à la fabrication de composants en salle blanche en passant par la modélisation, l’étude des propriétés structurales, optiques, électriques, électro-optiques et fonctionnelles. Les activités de l’équipe vont donc de la compréhension du matériau à l’échelle atomique, jusqu’à la réalisation de démonstrateurs lasers ou photovoltaïques. Ces activités correspondent à quatre axes de recherche de l’institut FOTON, une description courte est proposée ici :

 
Activités de recherche


- Axe I : Composants et fonctionnalités pour les communications optiques
L’équipe travaille en particulier sur le développement de sources laser à base de nanostructures de la filière InP (puits, fils ou boites quantiques), à émission par la tranche (lasers « edge ») ou par la surface (« VCSELs »), en collaboration avec les équipes SP et DOP. L’équipe étudie également l’intégration de composants photoniques actifs et passifs III-V sur silicium, via le GaP, afin d’exploiter en particulier les non-linéarités optiques directement sur substrat de silicium pour les interconnexions optiques ou la génération THz.

Contact : Charles CORNET
 

- Axe III : Matériaux émergents pour la photonique
L’équipe étudie en amont la possibilité de développer de nouveaux matériaux et nanostructures pour la photonique et le photovoltaïque. Ici, les propriétés structurales, électroniques et optiques de matériaux très divers sont explorées (e.g. Pérovskites hybrides, cristaux liquides pour la photonique, nanostructures carbonées, matériaux 2D ou 3D, avec ou sans confinement quantique). Ces études permettent d’évaluer ces matériaux pour le développement futur de composants photoniques ou photovoltaïques.

Contact : Nicolas BERTRU
 

- Axe II & Axe IV : Optique hyperfréquence, capteurs optiques et imagerie cohérente
L’équipe développe principalement ici des sources lasers à émission verticale (de type VCSELs ou VECSELs), à base de nanostructures quantiques de la filière InP pour de l’émission laser bi-fréquence, de la conversion opto-hyper, la métrologie ou les capteurs, en collaboration avec l’équipe DOP. Des micro-cavités résonantes dans le moyen infra-rouge sont également développées pour la spectroscopie de gaz. Enfin, de manière prospective, l’utilisation du GaP pour la génération THz est étudiée.

 

- Axe V : Concepts avancés pour le photovoltaique
L’équipe travaille expérimentalement et théoriquement au développement de nouveaux concepts de cellules photovoltaïques. En particulier, les pérovskites hybrides, matériaux en plein essor pour le photovoltaïque, sont très largement étudiées dans l’équipe. Mais d’autres concepts comme les cellules solaires III-V/Si, ou encore les cellules à porteurs chauds sont également développés expérimentalement et théoriquement.

Contact : Olivier DURAND
 
Compétences & Équipements

L’ensemble des équipements et compétences disponibles dans l’équipe OHM sont intégrés dans la plateforme technologique NanoRennes, qui regroupe les moyens technologiques de Foton-OHM (INSA) et de IETR-MM (UR1). NanoRennes est une plateforme régionale, dédiée aux actions de caractérisation et de micro-nanofabrication, qui fait partie du réseau national CNRS des plateformes régionales. Nanorennes offre ses compétences et son expertise pour la réalisation de projets collaboratifs, de prestations avec des partenaires académiques ou privés.

Compétences

L’équipe OHM est composée de personnels de l’INSA de Rennes et du CNRS, constituant une force vive de 44 personnels titulaires ou contractuels, dont 21 enseignants/chercheurs, 12 doctorants et 11 ingénieurs, techniciens et administratifs. Les activités de recherche de l’équipe OHM utilisent principalement les quatre compétences suivantes :

- Élaboration des Matériaux par MBE
- Technologie en salle blanche / composants
- Études des propriétés électro/optiques
- Simulations atomistiques et composants

Moyens techniques

Les équipements disponibles dans l’équipe OHM sont :

  • Réacteurs de croissance épitaxiale de matériaux Si et III-V (2 MBE, 1 UHV-CVD)
Contact : Nicolas BERTRU
 
  • Salle blanche ISO4-ISO5 de 120 m², comprenant :
    • Système de photolithographie UV ;
    • Mesure d’épaisseur par profilométrie à stylet ;
    • Évaporateurs de couches minces métalliques par faisceau d’électrons (Au, Ti, Pt, Ge, Pd, Ni, Al, Cr, ...) ;
    • Évaporateurs de couches minces diélectriques par pulvérisation cathodique ou PECVD (Si, Si3N4, SiO2 ...) ;
    • Gravures chimiques et/ou assistées par plasma (RIE) de matériaux multiples ;
    • Four à recuit rapide (RTA) ;
    • Système de micro-câblage de dispositifs (Au, Al).
 
  • Bancs de mesures optiques :
    • Bancs de mesures pour des longueurs d’onde d’émission de 0,4 à 5 µm, avec ou sans système de cryogénie (de 10 à 400 K), photoluminescence, électroluminescence, mesures laser, microscopie ;
    • Chaine laser à impulsion ultra-courte (130 fs) couvrant le spectre de [0.4, 3] µm ;
    • Banc de mesure du rendement quantique de cellules solaires.
Contact : Yoan LÉGER
 

Publications de Foton-OHM

Annuaire des personnels de Foton-OHM