Supervisory authorities

CNRS

Our partners

Search




Home > Teams > Photonic Systems

Photonic Systems

Head: Patrice FERON

The research topics of this team are focused on photonic systems including lasers, optical sensors and optical communications.
Various technologies based on standard and specialty optical fibres, integrated optical waveguides, semiconductor components, micro- and nano-cavities are studied. Their implementation in devices or systems and their advanced characterisation heavily rely on the two technology platforms hosted by the team.

The Photonic Systems team is composed of two research groups:

- the Lasers & Telecoms group: studies are oriented towards the physics and implementation of photonic devices targeting applications in sensing, all-optical signal processing and high-speed optical communication systems.;

- the Guided Optics and Sensors group: studies focus on integrated optics and micro-optics technologies for optical signal processing and sensors, with applications primarily in the areas of telecommunications and health.

This team furthermore supervises 2 technology platforms:

- the Lannion Common Centre for Optics (CCLO)

- the Platform for Evaluation and Research on telecommunication SYSTems (PERSYST)

as well as technological resources in:

- ChARACterizations and optical ASsembling tools (CARACAS)

The research team is composed of staff from University of Rennes 1 (ENSSAT and Lannion IUT), Telecom Bretagne and CNRS, which currently adds up to about 60 people including:

  • about 30 professors or assistant/associate professors
  • about 20 PhD students and postdoc positions
  • a dozen of technicians, engineers and administrative staff

The Photonic Systems team occupies 1,000 m² of offices, 1,200 m² of laboratories (including 200 m² of clean room) and supervises a budget of approximately € 1 million per year (salaries non included) funded by the Region of Brittany (45%), the European Union (50%) and industry (5%).

Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires

Rechercher




Accueil > Équipes > Systèmes Photoniques

Systèmes Photoniques

responsable Patrice FÉRON

Cette équipe étudie les systèmes photoniques pour les architectures lasers, les systèmes de capteurs, les communications optiques.
Diverses technologies à base de fibres optiques standards et spéciales, guides optiques intégrés, composants à semi-conducteurs, micro-nano cavités sont étudiées. Leur réalisation, puis leur mise en œuvre dans des dispositifs ou systèmes pour les télécommunications et les capteurs, font l’objet de caractérisations physique et système très avancées, notamment grâce aux plates-formes de l’équipe.

L’équipe Systèmes Photoniques englobe deux groupes de recherche :

- Le groupe Lasers & Telecoms dont les études sont orientées vers la physique et les applications des composants, des dispositifs photoniques et vers les fonctions optiques pour le traitement optique du signal, les systèmes de capteurs, de transmission à très haut débit ;

- Le groupe Optique Guidée et Capteurs dont les études se focalisent sur les technologies d’optique intégrée et de micro-optique orientées vers le traitement optique du signal et les capteurs pour applications principalement dans les domaines des télécommunications et de la santé ;

Cette équipe abrite 2 plates-formes technologiques :

- le Centre Commun Lannionnais d’Optique (CCLO)

- la Plate-forme d’Evaluation et de Recherche sur les SYStèmes de Télécommunication (Persyst)

Et un plateau technique :

- le plateau technique de CARACtérisations et ASsemblages optiques (Caracas)

L’équipe est composée de personnels de l’UR1 (Enssat et IUT de Lannion), de Télécom Bretagne et du CNRS, constituant une force vive de 62 personnels titulaires ou contractuels (au 1er janvier 2017), répartis comme suit :

  • 27 enseignants/chercheurs (dont 3 éméritats)
  • 16 dotorants et 5 post-doctorants
  • 14 personnels ITA

L’équipe Systèmes Photoniques, c’est aussi 1000 m² de bureaux, 1200 m² de laboratoires (dont 200 m² de salles blanches) et un budget d’environ 1 M€ par an (hors salaires) financé par l’État (45%), la Région Bretagne et l’Europe (50%) et l’Industrie (5%).